New November

1 Nov

It’s always refreshing starting a new month, and already it is a far cry from the lingering summer warmth we had in October.  Most of the leaves are gone and it is decidedly chilly but no less beautiful.

These early evenings give us a chance as a family to take walks as the light fades.  So perfect for taking atmospheric photos.

It’s also perfect for knitting cozy giant-cowl pullovers.

Idlewood is one of the patterns I fell in love with the moment I laid eyes on it, and managed to buy yarn for it during the crazy cheap Fabric.com sale.  Unfortunately I miscalculated yardage.  Instead of 850 yards, I bought only 760 yards.  I could do without this sort of anxiety while knitting something I so desperately want to wear.

I also have a few goals in mind for the new month.

  • Ringwood Gloves for my own mother in gorgeous Madelinetosh DK
  • Hat and mittens for Dougie
  • Ripley for me in Quince and Co Osprey
  • Fingerless mitts for David
  • Spend more time knitting than Ravelry
  • No more yarn! (for November)

Back in the days before Ravelry things were so much simpler.  You had to buy a pattern book or magazine and wait for the next issue.  The downside to the instant gratification and endless supply of patterns online is that I am constantly in search of the my next project and the queue starts to heave and stash accumulates.  Eventually things get so old I don’t even want to knit them anymore.  By keeping myself knitting and not surfing I’m hoping to get more done, buy less yarn, and simply enjoy making things.  We shall see.

4 Responses to “New November”

  1. Paula November 2, 2010 at 11:29 am #

    I have the same problem with Ravelry. I search for patterns and buy new yarn, than I see new exciting pattern and so on.
    I hope you’ll get yarn for Idlewood.
    Cheers!

  2. abbie November 2, 2010 at 11:47 am #

    Beautiful pictures. We haven’t spent much time yet around that lake and it looks like something we need to explore!

  3. Lina November 2, 2010 at 1:56 pm #

    What beautiful scenery for family walks!

    Idlewood is a lovely pattern. I hope you’ll have enough yarn to finish it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Knitter’s Confession « The Wife Knits - November 18, 2010

    […] avoiding the blog lately, because I have a confession that makes me feel very guilty.  Remember my November Goal, “No more yarn!”?  Well, I have fallen off the wagon.  Not just fallen, but have […]

Leave a Reply

