Windy City Update

22 Oct

We are all back in Madison after a fantastic few days staying with friends outside of Chicago.  While I enjoyed going to the Windy City again I was thoroughly exhausted after a full day there with a toddler.  It was totally worth it to visit Nina.

Located in Chicago’s Wicker Park, Nina isn’t huge but makes up for it with a contemporary interior and fabulous selection of luxury yarns.

I was in for a shock when I first entered the shop when I was greeted with a gorgeous knitted Shalom on a mannequin.  And look there on the shelf, Elijah, Otto and (not pictured) Sophie!

Such a cool knitting shop for a cool city.  Alas, as other mothers will understand, I had to leave prematurely due to a hungry little boy.  Without any yarn.  I was bummed until we came across a Threadless store and managed to pick up this sweet t-shirt.  Purple + Knitting + Tree cozies = Awesome.  One of the cozies even looks like the Jaywalker pattern, it must have been fate.

Though the city was fun I am not much of a city mouse, so I had even more fun exploring the charming town of Woodstock (the film location for Groundhog Day) near where we were staying. They had local fiber arts show, with some beautiful samples of handspinning, weaving and knitting.

I am happy to be back home in the relative quiet of Madison, but look forward to next month when we get together with family for Thanksgiving.  Which reminds me, I must get gift knitting!

4 Responses to “Windy City Update”

  1. denise October 22, 2010 at 8:32 pm #

    Oh, my old neighborhood (well, one of them)! Woodstock is pretty far out, at least. Nice and quiet! 🙂

  2. Rachel D. December 26, 2010 at 8:50 am #

    I love pictures of yarn shops as we don’t have a lot of them in our little country. Thank you for sharing yours: all these yarn; all these colors.
    Taking advantage of this message to which you a Merry Christmas.
    Cheers from Belgium.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Windy City Update | Exotic Travel Solutions - October 22, 2010

    […] Source: travel WordPress.com Tag Feed […]

  2. Windy City Update | International Travel Experience - October 22, 2010

    […] Source: travel WordPress.com Tag Feed […]

Leave a Reply

