Drive Thru and a Sock Solution

15 Oct

Things have been a little upside down at our house the last few days.  Dougie has been unusually grumpy and unable to get to sleep until very late.  My initial thought was to blame teething, but it could also be his way of telling us to slow down.  We’ve been on the go practically all month, and to be honest, it was nice to do nothing but sit at home for a change, reading books, making soup and just enjoy being together.

There’s nothing like an upset or sick toddler to kill productivity so I’ve been even more thankful for those little moments during the day that I can smuggle in a row or two.  I even managed to finish Drive Thru.

I absolutely adore this little jumper and am so grateful that the weather is cooling down enough for it to go out very soon.  The pattern was a breeze to follow, a very basic bottom up garment (either cardi or pullover) that will never go out of fashion.  I don’t know how many times I will realistically get this thing over my child’s head.  Even with the very loose and lacy cast off it’s a fight to get on, but I will cherish it as an heirloom for many years to come.

In retrospect I might have chosen a darker contrasting colour for the middle stripe, but I’m happy with the overall look and am pleased with how much of this sunny yellow and orange I have left in my stash for matching hats, scarf and mittens.

I also started my Socktoberfest socks the other night, in low light conditions, and in the morning I was a little bit shocked.

It is hard to get an accurate photo but they are definitely more Camo than I had imagined from the ball.  Now, I have nothing against the camouflage look, but it’s not really one I want to inflict on a friend.  Plus, being a loose knitter even going down to toothpick size 0 needles they are still way too big for size 7 feet.

There was this terrible sinking feeling of buyers remorse as I knit every stitch.  I couldn’t return the yarn now but hate wasting.  But I couldn’t think of any way of using the yarn that would make it attractive to my eyes at this point.  I was about to give up the ghost when I half jokingly asked the husband “Who would wear these?” and he replied “Hey, I would”.  Lo, and behold they fit him too.  A remarkably simple solution.  Amazing how quickly knitting goes by when you have a new sense of purpose.

2 Responses to “Drive Thru and a Sock Solution”

  1. Lina October 18, 2010 at 9:56 pm #

    That sweater is way too cute! And the socks aren’t that bad at all. I would wear them. 😀 Glad that your hubby stepped up to the plate, though! 😉

    • Mel October 19, 2010 at 8:25 am #

      Thank you! And the socks are really growing on me, so I might just have to steal them back.

Leave a Reply

