Woodland Studio Yarn Shop

11 Oct

Is it a problem when you start going out of your way to go to a yarn shop?  We were having a lovely family day out at a farm and petting zoo, when I innocently suggested we pop over to the next town.  Maybe for a coffee?

Oh, there’s a yarn shop there, too?  What a coincidence!  This is Woodland Studio Yarn Shop in Stoughton, WI, about a 20 minute drive from Madison.  Stoughton itself is a surprisingly pleasant little town with an interesting old main street.  The studios function as a gallery and framing shop, but at the back are hidden delights.

The range of colours in this country will never fail to amaze me.  You have to understand that a dozen colours would be pretty generous for commercial yarn back in the UK (most of them probably in blah pastel “baby” colours).  I love how those reds, blues and yellows really pop out of the displays.

My little helper was attempting to rearrange the shop so I didn’t have as much time as I’d like to look around (the shop keepers were very good natured about his busy hands).  But let’s be honest, there is never enough time for a good yarn shop, so I’ll be back again.

My favourite part about this shop is the wonderful array of knitted garments.  Some very famous DROPs patterns, Baby Surprise Jacket, and many more could be seen in the flesh.  The mannequin with the knitted vest and hood caught my eye in particular and I have to say, it’s gotten the creative juices flowing.

If I’m lucky, there’ll be more to report very soon.

2 Responses to “Woodland Studio Yarn Shop”

  1. denise October 11, 2010 at 11:28 pm #

    Oooooh. We go to the bakery in Stoughton every week, and my husband somehow always drives right by each time I mention…oh, I have been wanting to go in there, maybe you three can wait in the car… Ha! 😉 Looks like a nice place!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Lovisa Armwarmers « The Wife Knits - October 25, 2010

    […] is a fairly local mill that prides itself on sourcing wool from the midwest.  I bought this at the Woodland Studio in Stoughton and couldn’t pass up such a  local yarn, with plenty of yardage.  With any luck I should be […]

Leave a Reply

