Autumn Heat Wave

10 Oct

There must be some sort of inverse square law where the hotter it gets the less knitting I do.  While this probably means I’ll finish an entire sweater when it gets to 30 below, it’s bad news now that the weather has inexplicably reached the 80s here in Wisconsin.  Am I in Wisconsin still?  This is October right?  Some days it feels more like the twilight zone.

And I thought our beach days were over for the year.  We found ourselves back in the sand when I refused to resort to turning the air conditioning on again.  Some of us didn’t mind so much.

I have started on this little guy’s Drive Thru, which would be a nice easy and quick knit normally, but my hands are protesting at the feeling of hot sticky wool in the warmth.  I have managed to finish the body and am well on my way on one of the sleeves.

Strange to think that he might just need this in another week or so.  I hope the mercury drops because I am keen to finish this up and get going on my Socktoberfest project.

This is Knit One Crochet Too’s Ty-Dy sock yarn, a little gem I found at the Knitting Tree.  It has a wonderfully soft hand, much softer than most sock yarns I’ve come across and I was enchanted by the bold green colours.  My plan is to knit a pair of gift socks using the Jaywalker pattern.  I’m a bit unsure as to how the colours are going to stripe, but the pattern should help bring out its best side.  If I can finish a complete pair (that’s TWO socks) this month I will consider Socktoberfest a success.

For now, I am going to have to sit here, sweat, and enjoy a cold beer.  Happy Indian Summer to all.

2 Responses to “Autumn Heat Wave”

  1. denise October 10, 2010 at 10:42 pm #

    Looks like a nice way to enjoy the crazy heat! We were out a lot yesterday and my sensitive guy had huge heat rash and hives from it, so he stayed inside today until this evening when it cooled down enough to go out and ride bikes in the dark alley with glow sticks (got all the neighbor kids involved – like a light parade!). 🙂 Can’t wait for COLD!!!!

  2. abbie October 11, 2010 at 3:31 pm #

    We should have done the beach one more time too this weekend. That was some crazy warm weather. I couldn’t believe my husband and I had a serious conversation about turning the AC on. Luckily we did not succumb. Hoping the cooler temps come soon.

Leave a Reply

