The Purple Bag

6 Oct

This is a public apology.  I used to laugh at women who had a bag collection.  I used to say “who needs a dozen bags?  who needs the same bag in different colours?  That’s just ridiculous.”  Ladies, I am very sorry, that was the old me.  Meet the new me.

This is my new Namaste Zuma in delicious deep eggplant.  I have never been a bag person, in fact I was one of those women you see carrying around a plastic carrier bag instead of a purse (much to my husband’s chagrin).  But I always admired the Namaste bags from a far, they are as rare as hens teeth in the UK and twice as expensive.  Now, I am just blown away.

Though they are knitting bags you would never tell from looking.  The Zuma isn’t huge, but it has a massive yawn and can hold a surprising amount of wool.  It easily holds four 100g balls of worsted wool without flinching, with plenty of room for a drink, book, camera and other gubbins.  The magnetic closure is like an answer to a prayer, and the accordion pocket makes organising my circular needles and library cards a snap.

I got mine as a second from Namaste for a great deal.  The inside pocket doesn’t close, but there are so many other storage options it’s no big deal.  It’s amazing how something as simple as a bag can bring so much joy.

Is it wrong that I want one in a red?  And peacock?  And a Luguna?  Oh what a slippery slope this is!

5 Responses to “The Purple Bag”

  1. abbie October 7, 2010 at 1:09 pm #

    That is gorgeous! Is it bad that i want one and I don’t knit or even sew? Just bought a huge black bag today and my daughter (2.5 years) spent 20 minutes trying to convince me to buy her one (it is almost as big as she is!). I am creating a monster!

    • Mel October 7, 2010 at 2:50 pm #

      They are great bags knitting or not, the other models they do are much bigger. I’m not a big bag person myself but I’m starting to come around 😉 And I think my son has carried my bag around more than me!

  2. hannah October 7, 2010 at 7:49 pm #

    could i BE any more jelous??? seriously? ok maybe if it was the red one lol

  3. Lina October 8, 2010 at 5:49 pm #

    I have this exact same bag in the exact same color and I too love it!

    I also just might be one of those women with too many handbags. Maybe. 😉

  4. Celeste (IrishF on Ravelry) October 10, 2010 at 9:35 pm #

    Haha! I was just like you until I, too, got a Namaste Zuma. Then came the Newport. Then came the Laguna (that one is an *essential* for traveling and they just discontinued it…I better snap up another in a different color while I can). THEN I won a Hermosa in a Namaste giveaway drawing! I had never collected handbags previously. Just bought inexpensive purses and used them to tatters. No more. 🙂

Leave a Reply

