Sunshine and Knitting

30 Sep

We are trying our best to soak up every bit of warm autumn sun around here.

What that means for me is long afternoons spent at the park.  Not that I mind, I have something to bring with me these days.

Like so many things, I believe knitting is even better when done outdoors.  Maybe it’s because I know that there isn’t much time left before I have to don gloves and plein air knitting won’t be such a good idea.  Andrea’s shawl is a perfect pick up and go knit.  I’ve reached the pleasantly monotonous stripey section, but even the lace pattern was easy to memorise once you got your head around it.  It’s just enough lace to keep me interested, but not so much to have to constantly check the chart.

I love how the colours are working out, and the yarn is so soft and slippery to knit, but I don’t think I’d choose this again for a lace project.  The angora halo, while charming and a bit angelic, doesn’t make the lace stand out.  Something silky would bring out those YOs, but it’s the thought that counts, right?

And my thought is to keep knitting outside until there’s chance of frostbite.

2 Responses to “Sunshine and Knitting”

  1. denise September 30, 2010 at 11:08 pm #

    Love the texture! I am so beginner compared to that. I have learned just via books, so am not good at any funky patterns or counting stitches. 🙂

    • Mel October 1, 2010 at 3:43 pm #

      You should try it, it can be a lot of fun. And it’s still just knitting and purling, how you arrange it is what counts.

Leave a Reply

