Shalom – The Mama Cardi

29 Sep

If I could live in a climate that was a perpetual autumn I would, particularly for days like this.  Sunny, warm with a cool breeze, with the sunlight hitting at just the right angle to make for interesting shadows.  Perfect picnic and park weather.

Days like this are made for a short sleeved Shalom.  I am dubbing it the Mama Cardi, which is what my boy affectionally calls it.  Light but warm to throw on for a cooler day, no sleeves to dirty, and of course a breeze to knit, I deem mothers everywhere should have one or two.

Shalom was perfect as a back-to-the-needles knit because it was so speedy, bulky yarn and seamless knitting always helps.  The pattern is well written, though I did follow some other mods.  I shortened the twisted rib repeats and did some extra back rows, but kept the waist shaping.  It was really touch an go at the finish.  I did three rows of twisted rib for the sleeves and two rows garter.  I had about one yard of yarn leftover, yikes!  If I knit it again I would definitely go with another ball.

If I could I would knit a whole fleet of these in all different colours.  Some with long sleeves, some with short, it is a fabulous little garment.  I am so proud to have it as my first handknit sweater as a mama.

One Response to “Shalom – The Mama Cardi”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2011 – Year of Handknit Sweaters « The Wife Knits - January 1, 2011

    […] undertaking until I realised that I had managed to make four sweaters in the last four months (Shalom, Idlewood, Cobblestone, […]

Leave a Reply

