Ambitious Plans

27 Sep

This city living has made me soft, I am full of aches from yesterday’s hike and feel twice my age.  A sweet parcel in the mailbox did manage to put a spring in my step.

A little something I ordered from Etsy.  I thought it was almost too cute to unwrap.  Just take a look at what was inside.

Beautiful handmade branch buttons from ARemarkYouMade.  I had such a hard time choosing which ones to go for and fell in love with these with Shalom in mind.  My sense of scale is way off as these are just too big for her.  I just have to put them to good use, so I have some rather ambitious plans.  Remember the Tilted Duster?  It’s one of my all-time favourite knits but I’ve always had qualms with the neckline being a bit too out of control.  I may just have a solution.

I want to take off the original buttons I used and put them on Shalom, and convert the neckline to a shawl collar.  I’m a little bit nervous about this change because it is a rather major conversion of a classic cardigan, and it might change the way it hangs.  I think the buttons look much better against the brown and don’t look too out of proportion.  If it works I’ll be the first one to be impressed.

Coming up soon: Modeled Shalom photos and an Andrea’s Shawl update.

2 Responses to “Ambitious Plans”

  1. denise September 29, 2010 at 8:48 am #

    Love those buttons. We have had plans to make some ourselves forever (we have a hand crank drill for the boys with a teeny bit)…just haven’t done it yet. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Buttonhole Steeks « The Wife Knits - September 28, 2010

    […] I feel like a fearless knitter today, I have steeked and conquered.  Remember my plans for the Tilted Duster?  I actually followed through and am thrilled with the […]

Leave a Reply

