The All New Lakeside Fibers

24 Sep

I felt cursed today.  My good intentions to make pumpkin pie from scratch failed miserably.  Both pastry and filling turned out wrong (though the filling still tastes nice, I tell myself).  What better way to make a girl feel better than a trip to the local yarn shop.

This is the newly reopened Lakeside Fibers, located on the south side of Monona Bay.  When we first moved here in July it was closed but has opened up under new management last week.  I don’t have any frame of reference of what it was like before, but, wow, this is a nice shop.  The space is huge, light and airy, with seats near the back.  Everywhere you look there are gorgeous yarns, nestled in bins, shelves, and boats.

Yes, it is a boat, filled with Dream in Color Smooshy!  Pretty much every yarn, besides Rowan, was new to me: Madelinetosh, Shibuiknits, Spud & Chloe, Blue Sky Alpacas, and many more I can’t even remember.  The shop assistants were sweet and helpful and there were modern knitting books and patterns conveniently placed on tables and counters.  I am just blown away by the quality of the stores in this country, you really feel that it’s a place that takes knitting seriously.

As if all the yarn loveliness isn’t enough there is a cafe connected through the back that does nice coffee and has views over the bay.  And if you have little ones, you can have Daddy take them over to the playground just behind the shop near the beach (thanks D!)

I didn’t come home empty handed, but I’ll just give you a taste of the dilemma I had when choosing yarn for a future colourwork project.

I fear for my wallet because this place is only a short walk away.

7 Responses to “The All New Lakeside Fibers”

  1. Steph September 24, 2010 at 5:39 pm #

    I went there once! It was spring ’08… I remember it being kinda cramped. New layout looks awesome.

  2. denise September 29, 2010 at 8:53 am #

    Playing catch up after busy week. 😉 I haven’t been to that store since it re-opened. So hard to go to yarn stores with boys who don’t want to go to yarn stores. Ha! That looks amazing … must find a way to sneak a trip in soon.

    • Mel September 29, 2010 at 10:27 am #

      Tempt them with the beach, playground, and snacks at the cafe, maybe they’ll come then 😉

      • denise September 29, 2010 at 10:54 pm #

        I usually have to find a way to drive up with whole family in car while we are out and about for stuff (w/husband) and then I can wander a few while he does the cafe, they want to leave, and then wait for me while I try to hurry. 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Gift Knitting Stash Enhancement « The Wife Knits - September 25, 2010

    […] gives me a little leeway because I have a rare disorder that leaves me incapable of leaving a delicious yarn store empty handed.  I was literally paralysed by colour choice yesterday, so I roped in my husband to […]

  2. The Knitting Tree « The Wife Knits - October 4, 2010

    […] is the Knitting Tree on Monroe St in Madison, owned by the same woman as Lakeside Fibers.  You can tell this lady knows her yarn, both shops are charming but incredibly different.  The […]

  3. Lakeside yarns | Molluscmania - March 29, 2012

    […] The All New Lakeside Fibers « The Wife KnitsSep 24, 2010 … What better way to make a girl feel better than a trip to the local yarn shop. This is the newly reopened Lakeside Fibers, located on the south … […]

Leave a Reply

