My 5 Commandments of Knitting

20 Sep

When I started knitting again I decided to try a new approach by following a few simple rules.

1. Thou shalt not frog: This means whole garments.  I actually had some yarn that was used no less than 8 times because of my perfectionist tendencies.  My time is too valuable to lose all that work I put in.  Someone else may appreciate it even if I don’t!

2. Thou shalt not work on more than one project at a time: I used to have something like half a dozen projects on the go, unfortunately very few of them reached completion.  Hopefully by committing to one I’ll get more finished (this it the theory)

3. Thou shalt not obsess: I could spot a flaw in my knitting from ten paces and it would drive me nuts.  Having a child is a great lesson in restraint.  A tidy house now means that I can walk from one end of the room to the other and still touch the floor.  In knitting this means if nobody else can see the mistake then it stays.

4. Thou shalt not have unrealistic expectations: I used to knit at such a breakneck speed and sacrifice important things (food, sleep, etc) to finish a project, even if it was a whole jumper which couldn’t be done in less than a few weeks.  The result was often burnout and that project would be condemned to the UFO pile.  Since I can’t ignore my responsibilities to a busy toddler knitting is now done during quiet pockets.

5. Thou shalt not build stash: I will resist impulse buying yarn.

Oops.  Maybe I’ll amend #5 to no buying yarn without a specific project in mind.  This Berroco Ultra Alpaca Fine I bought at Spin because I just could not enter such a beautiful store and humbling hosts without buying a little something.  I bought two skeins, just enough for Wispy cardigan, which I have wanted to knit since I saw in Interweave knits, and waited for months to come online.  Its availability actually kick started me into wanting to knit again, though I couldn’t put the pressure of a laceweight knit for my first project.  I love the colour (can you tell I’m in a blue phase?), a deep oceanic blue-green, and the feel of the alpaca.  I just hope it isn’t frustrating to knit since my first choice was the suggested Malabrigo lace.

I also came away with these beautiful bamboo buttons.  Each has a slightly different character.  I bought them with Shalom in mind but didn’t realise it suggested 1 inch buttons and these are 3/4 inch.  I am so hoping they fit because they look great against the blue but then again, who doesn’t need a reason to go button shopping?

3 Responses to “My 5 Commandments of Knitting”

  1. Lisa September 21, 2010 at 3:24 am #

    I like them all apart from #2 (and #5 unless it has a loophole: “unless it is on sale”) – I need several projects on the go. One to live in the car, one that takes a bit of thinking about, one that can be done by hands alone while watching telly/chatting/reading.

    • Mel September 21, 2010 at 8:32 am #

      I miss the variety of projects too, watch me make some caveats (maybe socks don’t count).

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Gift Knitting Stash Enhancement « The Wife Knits - September 25, 2010

    […] Sep I am making an amendment to Commandment 5: “Thou shalt not build stash”, no buying yarn without a project in mind.  This gives […]

Leave a Reply

