New Place, New Start, New Yarn

19 Sep

Let’s dispense with apologies, we all know I’ve been gone far too long.  To be honest I had lost all knitting mojo, and had been overwhelmed my stress.  It’s taken a significant life and mindset change to get where I am now.  Where am I now?  My family and I picked up sticks and moved from a tiny village in the English countryside to the heart of a midwestern capitol.  At time of writing this is only a temporary experiment, moved by needing to know what our options were.  While I don’t regret the move I can’t wait to get back to where animals are a perpetual part of the landscape.  The bonus of this change is being able to go to places like this.

Our first holiday in the US took us to Door County, one of the highlights of my home state of Wisconsin.  While the coast and quaint towns were enjoyable, my favourite part of the trip was to Spin in Sturgeon bay.  Formerly a bank this shop was full of charm (check out the ceiling!) and absolutely chock full of yarns I had only heard about online.  The colour choices here are amazing, and almost too much for one small town girl to handle.

The shop assistants are beyond friendly and helpful and even directed us to one of the nicest cafes I’ve been in.  I wish I could have curled up in one of the sofas upstairs and made myself a nest of yarn to sleep in.  If you are anywhere near this place do not miss the chance to call in.  I didn’t come home empty handed (that’s coming in another post) but had to use some restraint because there was something waiting for me when we came back.

Soft, squishy, pure wooly goodness.  I finally got my chance to try knitting with Knit Picks yarn.  This Wool of the Andes Bulky is definitely popular for a reason, the colours are so deep and jewel-like and the stitches have great definition, I am just boggled by the price.  It is destined for my first knitting project in what seems like years, the Shalom cardigan.  I wanted something fairly quick and satisfying, and I’ve been coveting Shalom since Soulemama knit her first (and then her second).  I’ve been away from knitting long enough that looking at the patterns and starting a new project has that sense of adventure again.  Sometimes when I pick up those needles while the kettle boils or the toddler (nearly 2, can you believe it?) naps I feel like I’m meeting an old friend again.  I just hope we don’t lose each other again.

5 Responses to “New Place, New Start, New Yarn”

  1. orata September 20, 2010 at 10:39 am #

    Welcome to Madison! I hope you’re enjoying it here.

    • Mel September 20, 2010 at 11:26 am #

      Thank you! It’s a wonderful city, having lots of fun getting to know it

  2. Karen September 20, 2010 at 5:28 pm #

    Great to see you back blogging and knitting Mel! That yarn shop looks amazing, as is the blue of the Knit Picks yarn you chose – it’s beautiful.

    A little care package will be on its way shortly btw, to remind you of the countryside critters back in Dorset 🙂

    • Mel September 20, 2010 at 5:50 pm #

      Wow, thanks Karen, I can’t wait! I’m going to try and take a new approach to knitting, hopefully keep me from falling off the wagon. Wish you were here with me to fondle all the lovely yarn!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My 5 Commandments of Knitting « The Wife Knits - September 20, 2010

    […] to no buying yarn without a specific project in mind.  This Berroco Ultra Fine Alpaca I bought at Spin because I just could not enter such a beautiful store and humbling hosts without buying a little […]

Leave a Reply

