Little Man Vest

20 Aug

It’s funny how when you become a mother time really does just fly by.  For example, one day I went to sleep with a tiny baby and woke up to this.

A big, beautiful, happily cruising 8 month old boy who looks more and more like his daddy every day.  I don’t know what he’s done to my tiny gurgling baby (perhaps he ate him) but this upgraded model actually lets me knit from time to time.  As his reward I made him a very big boy sort of vest.

Thrifty Knitter’s Pebble baby vest knit up in lovely Rowan Summer Tweed.  This was my first project since my mother’s scarf and it was a wonderful knit.  Made in one piece the garter stitch was a nice reintroduction to knitting and it seemed to fly off the needles.  I loved everything about this; the yarn, the colour, and the pattern.  Finding and sewing on the colourful buttons felt like a moment of triumph.  When you take such a long hiatus from a hobby like this you almost forget how much you loved it in the first place.

When I started out knitting this I decided not to concern myself with the sizing.  This was not the time for pressure and deadlines, I only wanted the relaxing, unwinding, therapy that knitting can provide.  As it turns out it fits my little man perfectly and as soon as cooler weather hits we will do a modeled photo shoot (if he hasn’t outgrown it by then).

He seems to approve.

4 Responses to “Little Man Vest”

  1. Steph August 20, 2009 at 10:13 pm #

    Yay, you’re back! Love the vest. I’m starting knitting again too, after the inevitable summer hiatus. Can’t wait to start making Christmas presents. Dougie is too cute.

  2. magnusmog August 23, 2009 at 3:54 am #

    What a beautiful boy 🙂

  3. Em January 4, 2010 at 8:21 pm #

    I have a nephew coming soon and have decided to knit this vest for him! It is adorable – and I love the colors you chose. I have had a long hiatus from knitting so I am looking for something simple and fairly quick – looks like a winner!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 9 Month Model « The Wife Knits - August 25, 2009

    […] cooler air has given us an early opportunity to photograph the modeled Pebble vest.  It is a bit long in the body, giving a bit of room to grow.  And grow he certainly will. […]

Leave a Reply

