Tilted Duster and a Big Surprise

7 Apr

Back before I went to Cornwall I gave you a sneak peek at a project that I had just finished but hadn’t modeled.  I now can present the Tilted Duster.

Tilted Duster

I love this cardigan probably more than any of my other knits.  It is warm and fashionable and I have the satisfaction of reusing a great yarn.  I frogged my second sweater, Rogue, made out of Rowan Magpie Aran to make this.  I never really wore Rogue, it was a challenging knit and I learned a lot and did wear it a bit, but it was baggy and heavy and got tossed to the side.  The yarn is a really sturdy yarn and I had just enough to finish this project.  It probably took me a couple of months altogether but it did go in hibernation for a while.  The sleeves and top half went very quickly but man, that skirt took ages.  I finally took it out of hibernation and finished it over a few bad movies and episodes of Voyager.  I’ve not blocked it because I was so keen to wear it, so I think it’ll look a bit smoother and flatter once I do.  I don’t know when that’ll be because I never take it off.

Tilted Duster

The only thing I maybe don’t like about it is the collar, it is just a bit too big, but seems to roll over pretty well.  I did knit the smallest size and everyone was complaining about the sleeves being so tight so I knit them the next size up and a bit longer and I’d say they’re pretty perfect.

Now for the surprise.  Did you  happen to notice anything different about me in those photos?  No?  I’ll give you a little hint.

Baby Booties

I am pregnant!  Big cookies for those who may have guessed it!  I am about 6 weeks along and am so pleased, we have wanted children for a while now and was a bit surprised myself when my test came out positive while we were in Cornwall (in a cafe, of all places to pee on a stick).   I am due about December 1st which means I have seven months to knit a whole arsenal of baby clothes.  I have even started on a tiny guernsey and I can’t believe that there’ll be someone small enough to wear it.  I’m sure I’ll be a baby bore over the next months (and years) but I promise there’ll still be some knitting.  Thank goodness the Tilted Duster is the perfect cardigan for my future bump.

12 Responses to “Tilted Duster and a Big Surprise”

  1. Steph April 7, 2008 at 3:58 pm #

    OK, the sweater is great and all, but THAT DRESS! I love it!! Not everyone can pull off paisley… you are one of the lucky few. I am all about bright colors and bold prints lately, probably because I need some color in my life after this godawful winter we’ve had.

    Soooo excited to start on your blanket. I was going to hold off on buying any more yarn till after I moved, but I may go ahead and get it this week anyway. I love the yarn called for in that sweater pattern you linked to, btw – I used it in pink to make a scarf for Claire. I never thought cotton could be that squishy!

  2. Rhian April 7, 2008 at 7:03 pm #

    I think that’s the best Tilted Duster I’ve seen yet – it’s so flattering on you! Huge congratulations on the baby bump, too… if you ever need an excuse to buy yarn, you can say it’s for the baby, now! 🙂

    (Hello, by the way – I think I got here from Ravelry and your how-to-wear-a-shawl post, and I’ve been reading along for the past few weeks with great enjoyment.)

  3. goldfishgirl April 7, 2008 at 8:47 pm #

    And how nicely you model that Tilted Duster, the colour looks fab. Congrats on the big news!! That baby guernsey looks v.cute, and the booties are of course adorable. Wouldn’t it be nice to make another pair of them out of handspun?!

  4. knittedgems April 7, 2008 at 8:53 pm #

    Congrats to you and your husband! I am excited to see what you will knit for the baby.

    The tilt duster looks fab on you.

  5. thekidneybean April 7, 2008 at 11:54 pm #

    Congrats on the pregnancy! I’ll look forward to seeing all your baby projects. Oh, and the jacket is beautiful and very stylish!

  6. marycatharine April 8, 2008 at 2:03 am #

    Congratulations on both the Tilted Duster and of course the baby! I can’t wait to see all the wonderful baby knits.

  7. clarel April 9, 2008 at 2:13 pm #

    Congratulations! Love the Tilted Duster, looks very stylish and practical.

  8. yarnnut April 14, 2008 at 3:42 pm #

    Congrats on the Tilted Duster but more importantly the baby! The sweater will keep you warm during your pregnancy and the baby is sure to be well dressed with mama knitting for him/her.

  9. jane April 20, 2008 at 3:56 pm #

    Congratulations!

    The Tilted Duster is utterly gorgeous too. And perfect maternity wear 🙂

  10. Knitterella May 7, 2008 at 6:00 pm #

    Wow! Your Tilted Duster has convinced me to cast on!

    It’s beautiful (and practical – gotta love that)

  11. rebecca July 14, 2008 at 2:09 pm #

    you cardigan is gorgeous. i found it/you via ravelry ’cause i thought this would be a great sweater for my expanding belly. great minds must think alike! congratulations, hope you’re feeling more energetic now.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ambitious Plans « The Wife Knits - September 27, 2010

    […] her.  I just have to put them to good use, so I have some rather ambitious plans.  Remember the Tilted Duster?  It’s one of my all-time favourite knits but I’ve always had qualms with the neckline […]

Leave a Reply

