Yarn to Welcome Spring

31 Mar

The lack of knitting means that I’ve had an unusual amount of time available for spinning.  Which is perfect when you have delicious roving that is just begging to be spun up.  Over the course of 3 or 4 days I finished a yarn that just seems to epitomise spring.

I had so much fun spinning this up, I loved seeing the colour changes emerge, sometimes very muted, othertimes quite strong.  I navajo plied it into a sock yarn, which was quite an adventure.  I’ve never navajo plied and it felt more like a battle than plying when I first started out.  By the end I really got into the rhythm.  I’m still battling my problem of underspinning/underplying and there are points at the navajo chains where my plies are coming apart a little.  Seems like I need to set my wheel at an even higher ratio.  No matter, I still love it.  A huge thanks to Karen for enabling me to make such a fantastic yarn!  Colourways like this are worth their weight in gold.

I’m glad I’ve finished this because I really needed something to keep me occupied over the next week in Cornwall.  I can’t guarantee that the weather will be cooperative so a nice pair of spring handknit socks seems to be in order.

5 Responses to “Yarn to Welcome Spring”

  1. marycatharine March 31, 2008 at 2:24 pm #

    That yarn is darling, I’m sure it will become wonderful socks.

  2. goldfishgirl March 31, 2008 at 4:14 pm #

    It’s beautiful Mel! Congrats on mastering the navajo plying, I wouldn’t have thought it was your first attempt! Looks like it might even make stripey socks.

  3. thekidneybean March 31, 2008 at 4:17 pm #

    Wow! That was fast with the spinning. It turned out beautiful and I can’t cait to see what you make with it!!

  4. goldfishgirl April 17, 2008 at 9:49 pm #

    Hope you don’t mind, but I’ve tagged you! You can see the rules in my blog – or yell at me if you don’t like doing that kind of stuff 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Getting in touch with my inner Rupunzel « The Wife Knits - September 10, 2009

    […] those who don’t remember (don’t worry, I certainly didn’t), I spun this yarn from roving I received as a gift from Karen over a year ago.  It stands to this day the best yarn […]

Leave a Reply

