Survived and Conquered

5 Mar

Last night I was up until the wee hours of the morning, totally unlike me, struggling with my beautiful Fyberspates yarn.  I say struggle because as I was winding it the yarn became an awful, tangled mess.  I have no swift and it’s tricky winding yarn (via the Lego Winder) and carefully getting the yarn off the skein at the same time.  Usually there’s no problem, but last night I was doomed to failure.  Everything was okay until about the last 100 yards or so.  I must have been daydreaming because the next thing I knew I had a huge knot (and I mean the whole damn skein) at the end of the winder.  This is my personal hell.  I would rather be trapped in a room full of huge deadly spiders than have to untangle yarn.  After much cursing and crying, this is why we need hard liquor in the house, I finally got under control and slowly managed to untangle the yarn, a process that took me over three hours.  Three Hours.  We shall never speak of this again.

Cinnabon Yarn

I’m just glad that this yarn is truly lovely because any inferior yarn would have gone straight to the bin.  Yes, this is how much I love it.   I’m also renaming it Cinnabon because from the top it looks rather like those delicious cinnamon rolls I remember from trips to the mall.  I just hope my mother appreciates the pain I’ve been through to make her socks.

In much more pleasant news I found a patch of daffodils growing in our garden.  I didn’t plant them so they were quite a pleasant surprise.  They are the happy reminder that spring really is coming, even if the weather thinks otherwise.

Daffodils

3 Responses to “Survived and Conquered”

  1. goldfishgirl March 5, 2008 at 8:49 pm #

    Oh no, tangled yarn is just the worst thing! We definitely need to equip you with a swift, how about a lego version like your wool ball winder?

  2. Mandella March 6, 2008 at 6:38 pm #

    Beautiful daffs. I was gutted when the Cinnabon stall at West Quays in Southampton closed. It means I have to wait until we go to America to get my fix.

  3. Mel March 7, 2008 at 11:04 am #

    Whoa, what? Cinnabons in the UK? I wish you hadn’t told me, now I’ll forever live in hope!

Leave a Reply

