Here Comes the Sun

4 Mar

And out with it comes Cupcake. It really isn’t warm enough to wear this, but at least there was enough light for photos.

Cupcake Front

In the photo it looks a little short, but it’s really only because I’m standing with good posture. When I slouch there’s no problem. I love the look of it front the back too, the shaping is what really makes it fabulous.

Cupcake Back

I can already tell this will be my top for most of the summer, I just need to get some more vest tops to wear underneath it, you know, for decency’s sake.

Work on the Curvature Jacket is progressing quite nicely too. I had to sit down for about an hour yesterday converting all of the directions to my gauge. The recommended gauge is 4.5 st/in and mine is 3.75 st/in. Couple that with rather complicated yoke increases and you’ve got a lot of maths to do. Seriously, I don’t think I’ve ever used math more in my life than when I’ve started knitting/crocheting. So far everything is going according to plan and I should have a very well fitting, tailored cardigan to wear through the spring. Because the colour of the cotton is so blah I have grand plans to use some sort of indigo dye to really transform it. I can picture the lovely texture of the cardigan going really well with deep blue, and hopefully it’ll only improve as the dye fades like my favourite pair of jeans.

5 Responses to “Here Comes the Sun”

  1. thekidneybean March 4, 2008 at 4:59 pm #

    That color looks great with jeans! Looks really nice on you. And your photography is so amazing. It looks like you took the picture straight from the book!

  2. goldfishgirl March 4, 2008 at 9:53 pm #

    I love the cupcake top, and it fits you very well. I can’t believe how quickly you made it either!

  3. Mandella March 6, 2008 at 6:31 pm #

    Cupcake is very flattering on you. I like the idea about dying the Curvature Jacket when it’s done, but you’re braver than me!

  4. nathalie March 8, 2008 at 7:08 am #

    i wish i could crochet. alas i am only a (crappy) knitter. 🙂

  5. Rina May 7, 2008 at 1:16 am #

    I’m about to cast on for this too, using a lighter weight yarn so I’m sure to run into a lot of re-calculating. Look forward to seeing how yours turns out.

Leave a Reply

