Cupcake Baked

3 Mar

After spending a sunny morning reseaming Cupcake (I finally got to grips with the invisible weaving technique) I can present to you this.

Finished Cupcake

She is what I’d consider done.  I’m not going to bother with the shell edging or the ribbons.  I’m just not a ‘frou frou’ sort of girl.  I love everything about it though.  If it wasn’t hailing outside I would run around the village, freezing, but wearing it proudly.  Modeling shots will probably come when it’s warm enough to warrant a short sleeved holey top.  I love the yarn, the colour, the pattern, and most of all, the crochet.  I find it’s almost effortless to do, and purely fun.  I always look at knitting as almost utilitarian, a way to produce something practical to wear, and for warmth.  There’s a lot of fiddling about with knitting that I don’t like (kitchener I’m talking to you!), but with crochet there’s such a relaxed atmosphere.  Only one stitch to worry about at a time, no worry of stitches carelessly falling out and crying over dropped and mangled knitting.  Don’t get me wrong, knitting is my first love, but crochet is now my secret lover.

To prove this I have done a gauge swatch.

gauge swatch

For the Curvature Jacket, I knew I had to buy it the moment I set eyes on it.  I love the structure and the construction and it’s probably one of the most elegant crocheted garments I have ever seen.  It’s downright classy and shows knitting a thing or two about crochet.  I swatched with Sirdar’s luxury cotton DK and wonder if it’s the right yarn for the job.  The linked stitch is interesting, a bit fiddly, but creates an appealing dense fabric.  While I’ll probably knit my mom’s socks in the evening while listening to audiobooks but I’m afraid I can’t resist the call of the hooks.

3 Responses to “Cupcake Baked”

  1. Steph March 3, 2008 at 2:51 pm #

    Ooh, I actually like it a lot better without the edging and ribbons… I may have to make one after all! Of course, I should probably buck up and buy the book – I’ve checked it out from the library about 10 times.

    That jacket is very pretty too. I concur with what you’ve said about crochet. It’s also very forgiving of mistakes – not every stitch has to be perfect to look right. I think that’s my favorite thing about it, actually… 😛

  2. Mel March 3, 2008 at 3:13 pm #

    I think it’s well worth it, the more I look at the book the more projects I want to make. I’m also dying to get “Crochet Me”, some of the patterns in there are just so hot!

  3. thekidneybean March 3, 2008 at 5:02 pm #

    Great job on the Cupcake! Looks very nice in that color.
    Also, the curvature jacket is nice. I especially like how the shoulders have a bit of a curve to them.

Leave a Reply

