Solutions to Miserable Days

29 Feb

When the weather is grey, cold and miserable you need to put a bit of spring in your step.

Cupcake Top  

Out come the cottony summer yarns and crochet hooks.  This is the back of the Cupcake top from Debbie Stoller’s “Happy Hooker”, and I’ll consider this my first real crochet project.  I’ve finally got the hang of half-double crochet stitch and getting my hook through those pesky turning chain stitches.  I love the yarn, Wendy’s Supreme Luxury Cotton, and adore the colour, which is a much richer red than pictured.  Because my gauge was tighter I figured that I could knit the medium size, but my measurements make it to be a smidge smaller than I like.  I’m crossing my fingers and praying to yarn gods that there’ll be a bit of give.  Even if this does go to the frogpond I still have this to look forward to.

Fyberspates Merino Tencel 

Fyberspates Merino/Tencel sock yarn.  If only there was ‘feel-o-vision’ because this stuff is soft soft soft, with a lovely sheen.  Best part?  It’s machine washable and non-feltable.  I’m knitting these for my mum for mother’s day (in May), pattern still undecided.  I feel just so tempted to keep it for myself, but will be good, my mother deserves a delicious pair of handknit socks.So if you don’t have spunky yarn to cheer you up on those wintery days you know you can never beat a bowl of hot, thick, roasted garlic and potato soup.

One Response to “Solutions to Miserable Days”

  1. goldfishgirl March 2, 2008 at 7:36 pm #

    Wow, I love the look of your blog! Cupcake looks great too – hopefully you can stretch it out a bit and not do any frogging. And if I ever see that sock yarn in person, watch out, that yarn pixies might take it and hide it in my stash 🙂

Leave a Reply

