2011 – Year of Handknit Sweaters

1 Jan

Happy New Year, to you all!  I hope everyone has had a fantastic holiday, with plenty of food, love, and warmth.  This year was a quiet one, punctuated with holiday visits.  Looking back over December I am surprised by how much I managed to get done:

The last two were last minute knits when I ended up short of yarn for the Douglas Mittens.  I am so pleased that accomplished my goal of making my family handknits this year.  It’s made me more ambitious with my knitting goals than ever.

I am not one for making resolutions, but I feel like they really help my productivity, so this year I plan to make 12 sweaters in 12 months, by participating in IntSweMoDo2011.  It sounded like a crazy undertaking until I realised that I had managed to make four sweaters in the last four months (Shalom, Idlewood, Cobblestone, Amelia).

My list as of now is:

  1. Elizabeth Zimmerman’s Seamless Saddle Shoulder (for my Dad) – Cascade Eco +
  2. Manu (for my mother-in-law) – Felted Tweed
  3. Aidez – Rowan Purelife British Breeds Chunky
  4. Golden Wheat Cardigan – Louet Riverstone Chunky
  5. Kerrera – Araucania Nature Wool
  6. Raspy – Rowan Denim
  7. Central Park Hoodie (for sister-in-law) – Cascade Eco +
  8. Wispy – Berrocco Ultra Alpaca Light
  9. Vaila – Berrocco Peruvia
  10. Tweedy Aran Cardigan – Berlini York Tweed
  11. Basic Mens Henley (for David) – Rowan Cashsoft DK

The twelfth hasn’t been decided since it’s the only one that I don’t already have yarn for (yikes!).  I’m confident that I’ll manage to choose one, or two, or a dozen more I want to do before the year is up.  What knitting or crafting resolutions have you made this year?

One Response to “2011 – Year of Handknit Sweaters”

  1. Lina January 1, 2011 at 10:49 pm #

    Wow, that’s definitely ambitious! Good luck on your 12 sweaters in 12 months. I’ll be rooting for you. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

