More Solstice Giving

20 Dec

The highlight of this past weekend was a visit from my parents, and I was very pleased to have finished a very important present just in time.

This is Amelia, knit with Araucania Nature wool.  A two-week knit Solstice gift for my mother.

The last time we visited my parents I showed my mother the yarn, researched the pattern with her, and took measurements.  I considered making it a complete surprise, but I am glad that I involved her early on.  It was fun seeing her get excited by the yarn and telling me what she did and didn’t like about the pattern.  Taking measurements was a lifesaver too, because she has incredibly short arms, and I almost ended up with sleeves three inches too long!

And it fit like a glove!  The only mods were to the sleeve length and making the buttons the full length, but a bit further apart.  I had fun perusing through my new button collection for just the right ones.  It was a very speedy knit despite a slow start with twisted rib.  I hope it’s a cardigan that will last her for years to come.

Just one more last minute gift before Christmas weekend.  A set of Douglas mittens for my Grandma, made with some leftover Harrisville Highland and Louet Riverstone.

I hope she likes the Packers colouring!

3 Responses to “More Solstice Giving”

  1. Lina December 21, 2010 at 1:00 am #

    Lovely cardigan and it looks so cute on your mom! :)

    I love the colorwork on the mittens. Can’t wait to see them finished.

  2. denise December 21, 2010 at 11:38 am #

    Amazing, as always. Great sweater!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2011 – Year of Handknit Sweaters « The Wife Knits - January 1, 2011

    […] Amelia for my Mum […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

