An Early Solstice Present

11 Dec

Even though it comes year after year I am always amazed how overwhelming the holidays can feel.  Thanksgiving week included both Dougie’s 2nd birthday and a trip to Chicago to see David’s sister and her family.  Despite us all being sick with cold we had a wonderful time.  The knitted gifts went down a treat, and I even managed to squeeze in a quick Turn a Square for my dearest nephew.

My only complaint would be that it was too brief a visit, though I suppose that is always true with people whom you love and never see enough of.  Coming back home took a lot of adjusting.  Dougie gets quite attatched to people and is affected by separation as much as us adults.  With any luck we hope to be seeing them all again very soon.

November was a surprisingly productive month (though you’d never tell from this blog *cough cough*) and I managed to finish Cobblestone for NaSweKniMo.  It was a spur of the moment decision to make it a goal, but it really kept me going through all those rows of garter stitch in the round!  An early solstice present that was finished just in time for the snow.

I loved knitting this, but then again I don’t mind endless stocking stitch as long as it’s in the round.  I even made sure to do several swatches, which was good because I had to knit this on 3mm needles to get gauge.  The Harrisville Highland is a remarkable yarn, it bloomed and softened up a lot after a good soak.  I’ve read that it’s a yarn that won’t pill and I’m hoping it lasts for many years to come.

I have a lot of hopes and dreams for this jumper.  I hope it will be worn when we get our first chickens.  When he chops down his first tree.  That it will last through rainstorms and winters.  It’s a jumper knit with a different lifestyle in mind, and one I hope will hold a lot of memories.

For now we will keep dreaming of that life and that place, and it will keep him warm while the snow falls.

5 Responses to “An Early Solstice Present”

  1. Lina December 12, 2010 at 8:47 am #

    Love that hat!!! The colors are wonderful! And the Cobblestone is perfect. What a beautiful pair of knits! :)

  2. Sokike December 14, 2010 at 6:43 am #

    That’s quite something, purchased yarn in one post and finished pullover in the next! Don’t think I have seen it done before. :)
    The Cobblestone color is my absolute favourite.

  3. denise December 16, 2010 at 4:05 pm #

    Love it all!

  4. Fifi May 10, 2012 at 2:24 am #

    I love the scarf! Beautifully made with the colors and everything!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2011 – Year of Handknit Sweaters « The Wife Knits - January 1, 2011

    […] I realised that I had managed to make four sweaters in the last four months (Shalom, Idlewood, Cobblestone, […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

