A Knitter’s Confession

18 Nov

I’ve been avoiding the blog lately, because I have a confession that makes me feel very guilty.  Remember my November Goal, “No more yarn!”?  Well, I have fallen off the wagon.  Not just fallen, but have taken the wagon down with me with the amount of yarn purchased this month.

I have such a weakness for yarn sales, and Fabric.com comes along and has a massive one that breaks my resolve in a flash.  Discontinued yarn?  I may never get my hands on this stuff again!

Felted Tweed in a deep pine green for a Manu.

Berrocco Vintage Chunky for a Meep Meep hoodie for Dougie.

Rowan Purelife Shetland Moorit for Aidez.

And Harrisville Highland in bluegrass for David’s long-time-coming Cobblestone.

Thus in a few quick clicks I have spent a couple of months yarn allowance.  The only way I manage to do this without serious retribution from my husband is the fact that I did get all of this on incredible sale and that they will (eventually) become something wearable.  When buying yarn for an entire sweater I try to pay only as much as I would be willing to pay for a high quality store-bought.  Any of these yarns at full price would have been out of my league.

I have now taken serious steps to curb my addiction.

  • Credit card numbers are no longer available freely.
  • I have left the yarn-enabling groups on Ravelry (sorry Yarn Sales members!)
  • I have joined stash busting groups
  • Knit constantly (because the Devil really does make work for idle hands)

On the positive side, with knitting always in my hands I spend less time online trawling for sales, and there’s also been a huge boost in my productivity.

And if a snowstorm comes in the next few weeks, I will have plenty to keep me warm and busy.

One Response to “A Knitter’s Confession”

  1. digitalcandy November 18, 2010 at 8:20 pm #

    I just wanted to let you know that you are not alone. For months I have been telling myself to use the yarn from my stash, “you liked it enough to buy it- so use it.” Recently I have come home with 10 mini skeins of Vickie Howell’s Viva Las (dark shimmery purple) yarn. Not to mention I left A.C. Moore with 8 giant skiens of Bernat Holiday Yarn and I did this knowing that there would be no way that I would finish a project in time for Christmas.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

