Super Quick Mittens

12 Nov

Have a couple of hours of spare?  Some spare worsted weight yarn?  A pair of small hands that need warming?  Then you have to knit these.

While snow still seems a long way away (it’ll prove me wrong) the days are getting chilly enough to warrant gloves and mittens.  Desperate to use some of my Cascade 220 stash these extra-toasty mittens use yarn doubled, and are so quick that I finished them over the course of one movie.  Talk about instant gratification.

These are his first mittens and his first truly snowy winter.  He seems to approve of them too, proudly wearing them (and nothing else) and demanding a trip to the park.  They will be perfect for those sledding, snowballing, and hot chocolate days to come.  I enjoyed autumn immensely but am equally excited for winter to come this year.

(Um, take 2?)

3 Responses to “Super Quick Mittens”

  1. denise November 17, 2010 at 8:37 am #

    You see, those would take me months, you, hours. I need to take a class. ;P

    • Mel November 17, 2010 at 10:26 am #

      He had tiny hands, it makes for very fast knitting. If you ever need help with a pattern or something I’d be more than happy to help! Remember, its just purl and knit :)

  2. denise November 18, 2010 at 8:48 am #

    I keep telling myself that…but it never ends up that way after 40 interruptions and little boys. I thought, oh, I have huge hands, I will get fatter yarn/needles and maybe that will be easier. Nope. I have found self-taught (re-taught) crochet is easier than self-taught knitting. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

